I can’t tell you a joke

I can’t tell you a joke

or make the table laugh

I can’t impress you with sass

or give you a witty comeback

But when I try

I repeat until I’m heard

 

I can’t tell you a joke

or make the table laugh

I sure can explain one

But when I’m told,

hey, it’s not funny if you gotta explain

I wonder why I even try

 

I can’t get your joke

or hear what you just said

I don’t get the point of it all

you see, I was thinking

about what to say next

So I ask you what? I ask you to repeat

But when I’m told,

let it be, jokes aren’t for you

I wonder if that’s true

 

I can’t entertain a crowd

I don’t have fun stories to share

I can’t narrate incidents well

But I can converse

about my week, about what matters

you nod, maybe listen,

you probably think

this isn’t interesting, she has no chill

 

So I go quiet and wonder

maybe, conversations aren’t for them.

Leave a Reply

